Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print

Topic: Where to stay, while touring the Alps?  (Read 2174 times)

Reputation 5

Miles Typed: 12

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« on: April 24, 2017, 10:04:59 am »

I'm a Alps noob and was wondering...

How do you who never bother booking in advance go about finding inexpensive places to stay? What is the secret handshake that stops the people in the reception from stating that they are full or charge you double for "late booking"? Smile What do you look out for?
Sport-Touring
Advertisement

Remove Advertisements

Orson
speshulize in havin' fun

Reputation 86

Years Contributed: '09
Motorcycles: '02 Moto Guzzi Le Mans, '04 Triumph Thruxton, '16 BMW R1200RS
GPS: Western N.C.
Miles Typed: 14347

My Photo Gallery

« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2017, 10:08:40 am »

I usually will look around my proposed destination one day ahead of time on TripAdvisor.

I've found Tripadvisor reviews to be fairly accurate and it gives you a good idea of what types of accommodations are out there.

Mrs. DantesDame
Super Moderator

Reputation 78

Years Contributed: '07, '08, '09, '10
Years Supported: '11
Motorcycles: '14 BMW F800 GSA
GPS: Switzerland
Miles Typed: 15162

My Photo Gallery

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2017, 12:09:29 pm »

I had to completely change my travel style when I moved here. In the States, I would just ride until I was done riding, find a likely motel and get a room. Rarely was there an issue. Here, it isn't so easy, for a few reasons:

- the hotels are not always obvious
- you have no idea of the room rate based on the outside appearance
- vacancies are unknown until you stop, get off the bike, go in and ask

Since moving to Switzerland I haven't taken many multi-day trips  Sad but the trips I have taken I have planned ahead with AirBnB. My next planned / unplanned long trip will be mostly camping and rural areas, so in-city searches for lodging should not be an issue.