Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print

Topic: NAFO SS1K Ride Report  (Read 1009 times)

protondecay123
No Delusions of Significance

Reputation -1

Years Contributed: '08
Years Supported: '11
Motorcycles: Yamaha FJR1300
GPS: Here, Now
Miles Typed: 138

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« on: July 30, 2008, 07:20:14 pm »

From a Virgin's Perspective.

NAFO had been in planning for a while and Beeroux decided to come up with a SS1K for the party. Man, did he.

The Rider's Meeting went off at 6 pm with Beeroux looking a little crusty. He had finished the ride earlier at about 23 hours with 3 off the bike. I don't know much but that ran a shiver down my spine. He's pretty salty and I'm new to all this and it took him almost all day to do this thing! Man, it looked like I might have grabbed the tiger by the tail. I had imagined my first Saddlesore would be a thousand mile jaunt down the slab. Not a bunch of twisties in Colorado!

During the meeting Mr. Roux demonstrated his prowness with the English language. "Towel means Towel, not T-shirt, flag, etc." Well that put me to doing a little extra work along with Hycle after the rider's meeting. We obviously do better with Pig Latin than English.

Got TriggerT his towel (NOT FLAG!), studied the route some. Having lived for a year in Colorado in 05, I was familiar with some of the route. It looked like a bear. Lot's of 25 mph speed limit or less.

Got up at 3:45, took a shower and quaffed down a 20 oz Blue Sky energy drink that was 50% juice. Whole Foods across the way didn't carry Red Bull and I'm pretty suspect of the "natural" alternatives. It would take an hour or two to kick in but when it did "Huzza"!

Got the bike packed up, Zumo on and route loaded. The crusty RallyBastard was actually in a fine mood gave us the UGJ (Use Good Judgement) talk. Believe you me those words went over and over in my mind throughout the day.