Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print

Topic: So I rode a pirate ship...  (Read 3950 times)

Magnarider
Adventure Kool-Aid Drinker

Reputation 3

Years Contributed: '08
Years Supported: '11
Motorcycles: 2014 BMW R1200GS
GPS: Blaine, Minnesota
Miles Typed: 945

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« on: August 18, 2008, 01:22:02 pm »

Well, it finally happened.  I took my dad's '02 Electraglide Classic with the 1550 bore kit and 6-speed gearbox out last week.  Here's a pic for those of you that are Harley illiterate:

http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u284/magnarider/2002-flhtc.jpg

Firstly, when I got on it, it felt really awkward.  The seat is set up so that it really makes you slouch, and it's really wide.  Almost too wide for me in fact.  When I came to a stop, I felt like I had to slide forward on the seat in order to get my legs wide enough for it.  The bars felt odd too, too high and coming too far back.  It was pretty heavy too.  Once I started riding it wasn't too bad, although the floorboards took some getting used to (I've never liked floorboards, even in my cruiser days).  In stop and go traffic, or just areas with lots of stops and low-speed riding, I really wouldn't like this bike.  

However, once you get going a bit, and can just cruise, I have to say this bike is pretty comfortable.  This bike is totally at home putting on big miles.  Maybe not at a spirited pace, but it'll just eat them up with pure comfort.  For instance, the seat that he put on from HD has air bladders in it that can inflated and deflated in order to change the shape of the seat.  So, your butt gets sore in the middle of Nevada, fine, hit a button and the pressure points will totally change.  Then just repeat this process until you don't feel like riding anymore.  Not to mention the driver's backrest which was really nice.   It was also weird having such a huge windscreen up front as well.  The entire area that I sat in was completely dead air, no wind at all.