Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print

Topic: ...to Haxtun [mostly photographs]  (Read 4956 times)

Daniel Kalal
It's pronounced Goot-see

Reputation 114

Years Contributed: '07, '08, '09, '10
Years Supported: '11
Motorcycles: Guzzi Daytona, Guzzi Stelvio
GPS: Kansas
Miles Typed: 1001

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« on: May 08, 2013, 07:08:11 pm »

Haxtun is in Phillips County in northeast Colorado. It isn't the county seat, nor does it seem to (yet) have any residents who have taken the time to record its history on the Internet. What it is, though, is the northern end of a stretch of highway CO-59 that I've not travelled.  So, this would be a trip to Haxtun, and then south along a new bit of road. This would also be the break-in ride for a new Stelvio. This bike is identical to what I've been using in Europe for the past several years, so I'm already quite comfortable with it.

I'd be zigzagging west and north, generally heading towards the western Nebraska line. One thing about navigation in Kansas, it doesn't really much matter if you go west then north, or the other way around. When the roads are on the section lines, it's all the same distance.

Stafford, Kansas was founded in 1878 and is on the AT&SF railroad.

Great Bend, Kansas was founded in 1871 on the AT&SF not very far from Fort Zarah on the Santa Fe Trail. As you might expect by the name, the Arkansas River has a “great bend” near here, and was a break-away point for  wagons along the Santa Fe trail.

Natoma, Kansas started out in 1888 (railroad), but doesn't seem to have incorporated itself until 1905. As is almost always the case for towns created for the railroads, Main Street runs perpendicular to the tracks.  The nearest two-lane highway (KS-18) avoids the town completely. You can almost always find the old (~1920s) highway down by the tracks.

Alma, Nebraska was settled in 1872 on the Burlington and Missouri railroad. There's now a nearby reservoir, so the weekend campers help keep the town going.