Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
Print

Topic: Advice needed! Yet another "Which bike should I get" question  (Read 13547 times)

Mortalsphere

Reputation 1

GPS: Somewhere outside of City 17...
Miles Typed: 11

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« on: April 14, 2014, 06:17:10 am »

Hello all,

I literally read through this blog all day yesterday, and I would like you all to know I've now added "farkle" and "twisties" to my vocabulary. I've been riding for ~5 years. I learned on little 200 and 250 dual sports, going on and off road in rural, hilly, curvy, WV. which I think was a perfect way to learn for me. I then graduated to a Suzuki M50 (800cc) about a year ago, with forward controls (I have long legs). I really don't like the fit or feel as much as I thought I would. I've been looking into trading it in towards a new bike that I can keep for a long while. I like the upright position more, and I have zero experience on an actual sport bike like a Ninja or Gixxer. Here's what I think is important to me (correction is appreciated if necessary):

-Weight and mass suitable for highway travel. I commute and ride on all types of roads (not off road much anymore), to include highway frequently. I want something that can keep speed without being blown around the lanes, but also give me some butterflies when I see the curves coming.
-Long distance comfort. I am interested in the types of trips I see on here. Multi-day, all-weather, long range trips where I rack up the miles and forget where I live. Let's just say I need to engage in some escapism.
-Honestly, I am not interested in a straight-up sport bike. I think the long distance comfort point above might speak to that, but correct me if I am wrong.
-Saddlebags are a must, and a standard or purchaseable top bag is almost a must.
-Some amenities would be nice, like cruise control. Heated grips and GPS I can always add later.
-I'm not so worried about budget.