Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print

Topic: First road bike  (Read 22666 times)

DesertIrish

Reputation 1

Motorcycles: None yet, looking though
Miles Typed: 3

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« on: July 05, 2014, 05:45:07 pm »

Thank you to all that are leaving advice. I have been riding dirt for about 15 years, and I am now getting a road bike.

I am looking at a few sport/touring bikes, more of a sit up riding style.  The few that I am looking at are the SV650/1000, VFR800, and maybe the FZ1. I have done some research on them and love to look of all three. I'm looking for advice from people that own or have owned these bikes, or just have good info on them.

Like I said, this is my first road bike, just need the pros and cons before pulling the trigger. Thanks again.
Sport-Touring
Advertisement

Remove Advertisements

coucours grad

Reputation 17

Motorcycles: 2008 ST1300
GPS: Covington GA
Miles Typed: 407

My Photo Gallery

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2014, 05:55:44 pm »

ride them all and anything else you can get a key for....Something will speak too you. Buy it.

quote author=Mrs. DantesDame   Polishing the turd does not make it any less of a turd  Rolleyes
Blue is Best
Light is right

Reputation 252

Motorcycles: 2012 FJR1300
GPS: Rio Rancho, NM
Miles Typed: 2387

My Photo Gallery

Blue motorcycles are fastest

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2014, 09:17:38 pm »

Good job on making the decision to try the street. Riding a dirt bike is a great way to establish the fundamentals to begin your street riding experience. Be careful. Stick to a "sit up" riding position. My preference and I think you'll like it better.

I've ridden the bikes you list. Because of the riding position and friendly nature, the FZ1 would be a good choice. There are some new left over 2011 bikes for around $8k. With the new FZ09 coming out I'll bet you could beat the dealer up for more of a discount.

Past bikes: Dirt- '74 MX360, SC500 x 2, '77 YZ400, '78 YZ400, '83 CR250, '85 CR250, '86 CR250